Dear Democracy Now! Visitor: We are an independent, ad-free daily news program that serves millions of viewers and listeners each month. Our show is special because we make it our priority to go where the silence is. We put a spotlight on corporate and government abuses of power and lift up the stories of ordinary people working to make change in extraordinary times. We do all of this with just a fraction of the budget and staff of a commercial news show. We do it without ads, corporate sponsorship or government funding. How is this possible? Only with your support. If everyone who visited our website in the next week donated just $15, we would cover all of our operating costs for the year. We can't do it without you. Please donate today. It takes just a couple of minutes to do your part to make sure Democracy Now! is there for you and everybody else.

Your Donation: $

Democracy Now! Events All < Previous | Next >

Past Event

Alex Odeh Memorial Banquet

Newport Beach, CA

October 19, 2013 | Saturday | 6:00 pm

Newport Beach Marriott

900 Newport Center Drive,
Newport Beach, CA 92660 ( see map )
Amy Goodman gives the keynote address at the Alex Odeh Memorial Banquet. On October 11, 1985, Alex Odeh, West Coast regional Director of the American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC) was murdered by a pipe bomb explosion at the ADC office in Santa Ana, California.

This ticketed event marks the 28th anniversary of his murder, and is hosted by the American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee, Orange County Chapter.

Tickets are $100 per person, $50 for students (with ID) Get tickets
Reception included with ticket price, begins at 6:00 pm, Dinner at 7:00 pm.

Amy Goodman

Amy Goodman is the host and executive producer of Democracy Now!, a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program airing on over 1,300 public television and radio stations worldwide. Time Magazine named Democracy Now! its “Pick of the Podcasts,” along with NBC’s Meet the Press.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard honored...