Dear Democracy Now! Visitor: We are an independent, ad-free daily news program that serves millions of viewers and listeners each month. In this US election year, Democracy Now! is more important than ever. For 20 years, we’ve put a spotlight on corporate and government abuses of power. We lift up the stories of ordinary people working to make change in extraordinary times. We do all of this with just a fraction of the budget and staff of a commercial news show. We do it without ads, corporate sponsorship or government funding. How is this possible? Only with your support. A generous funder will match your donation dollar for dollar if you donate right now. That means when you give $10, your donation will be worth $20. Pretty exciting, right? So, if you've been waiting to make your contribution to Democracy Now!, today is your day. It takes just a couple of minutes to make sure that Democracy Now! is there for you every day.

Your Donation: $


Democracy Now! host Amy Goodman, co-host Juan Gonzalez and various correspondents have won numerous awards including:

I.F. Stone Hall of Fame, 2016

Amy Goodman

Deadline Club’s New York Journalism Hall of Fame, 2015

Juan González

Newswomen’s Club of New York Front Page Award for Television–Special Reporting, 2015

DN! Correspondent Renée Feltz for “Private Prisons for Immigrant Families Grow Despite Court Ruling Against ‘Detention as Deterrence’”

I.F. Stone Lifetime Achievement Award from the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University, 2014

Amy Goodman

The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation/United Nations Correspondents Association Global Prize Silver Medal, 2013

Reporting on Climate Change

Park Center for Independent Media Izzy Award, 2012

DN! correspondent Sharif Abdel Kouddous for his coverage of the Egyptian Uprising

Gandhi Peace Award, 2012

Promoting enduring peace

Barcelona Human Rights Film Festival Award, 2012

Coverage of Arab Spring

Right Livelihood Award, 2008

Developing an innovative model of truly independent grassroots political journalism that brings to millions of people the alternative voices that are often excluded by the mainstream media

Park Center for Independent Media Izzy Award, 2009

Special achievement in independent media

Communication for Peace Award from the World Association for Christian Communication, 2008

Project Censored Top 25 Censored Stories for 2009

  1. - APA Complicit in CIA Torture

ACLU-NCA Henry W. Edgerton Civil Liberties Award, 2008

A distinguished career as an active defender and supporter of civil liberties

The Paley Center for Media She Made It Award, 2007

To honor women creating radio and television

Gracie Award for American Women in Radio and Television Public Broadcasting, 2007

Individual Achievement for Outstanding Program Host

James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism, 2007

Career Achievement

Webby Award Honoree, 2007

Podcasts and Politics

Puffin/Nation Prize for Creative Citizenship, 2006

Groundbreaking reporting

Ruben Salazar Journalism Award

Outstanding Commitment to Preserving the Integrity of Journalism

George Polk Award

Radio Reporting

Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Prize

First Place, International Radio Documentary

Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award

Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

Edwin H. Major Armstrong Award

Best Radio Documentary

National Federation of Community Broadcasters

Golden Reels (several, including Best National News Story 2003)

Project Censored Award

Most Censored Story

Society of Professional Journalists

Best Investigative Reporting
Award for Excellence Series/Investigative Reporting

United Press International

Best Radio Feature

Associated Press

Best Enterprise Reporting

Electronic Frontier Foundation

Pioneer Award

American Women in Radio & Television

Pinnacle Award for Radio Programming

National Catholic Association of Broadcasters

Best Documentary
Best Religious Documentary

Radio/Television News Directors Association

Regional News Series/Documentary Award

Alliance for Community Media

Best Nationally Distributed Program

ACME (Action Coalition for Media Education)

National Media Literacy Activist Award

Amigos Del Sur Del Bronx (Friends of the South Bronx)

Evelina Antonetty Community Pulitzer Award

Boulder International Humanist Institute

Second Annual Symposium Award

Brooklyn Society For Ethical Culture

Peace Site Award

California Defenders Association

Gideon Award

City of Santa Cruz

Mayor’s Proclamation: Amy Goodman Day, September 17, 2006

Consortium on Peace Research, Education, & Development (COPRED)

Social Courage Award

The Deadline Club New York Chapter Award

Best Investigative Reporting in Radio

Disarmament and Economic Conversion Committee

Sadako Peace Citation

Feminist Caucus of the American Humanist Association

Humanist Heroine "Exception to the Ruler"

Hometown Video Festival

National Distribution–Professional Award

Long Island Alliance for Peaceful Alternatives

Kairos Award, Journalism and Human Rights Work

Media & Democracy Congress

Media Hero Award

National Editors Association

Golden Razor Award
Editor of the Decade

National Federation of Community Broadcasters

Golden Reel
National Special Event Coverage

National Women’s Political Caucus

Exceptional Merit Media Award
Radio Talk Show

New Jersey Peace Action Award

Political Courage Award

New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association

First Place Award
Best Enterprise Reporting Class 1 Radio

The Newswomen’s Club of New York

Front Page Award for Distinguished Journalism

NFCB (National Federation of Community Broadcasters)

Community Radio Awards
National Entertainment /Music Program–Silver Reel
Local News & Information

Office of the Americas

Peace and Justice Award

Pacifica Radio, Washington Bureau

The Unvarnished Truth Award

Prisoners Breaking the Chains Committee

Lois Lane Award

RTNDA (Radio-Television News Directors Association)

Regional News Series/Documentary Award

Ruben Salazar Journalism Award

Outstanding Commitment to Preserving the Integrity of Journalism

Samori Marksman Memorial Award


Twelfth Annual Joe A. Callaway Award for Civic Courage

Journalism Activism Broadcasting

Unitarian Universalist Association

The Wilton Peace Prize 2004

United Press International
Best Radio Feature