Hot Topics

Democracy Now! Events

Event banner

Past Event

Ten Years On: The Legacy of Troy Davis Continues, a Virtual Commemoration Moderated by Amy Goodman


September 21, 2021 | Tuesday | 8:00 pm

Virtual event

New York, NY 10001 ( see map )
September 21st marks ten years since the state of Georgia executed Troy Davis, despite a strong innocence case and a massive global campaign fighting for his life.

In the decade since Troy’s execution, the movement against the death penalty and state violence that Troy and his family helped build has continued to grow. Troy’s family members and countless supporters continue to do this work in his name, as he asked them to.

Please join the Davis Family, Donkeysaddle Projects and co-sponsors, to honor Troy’s life, reflect on the movement he helped build, and re-energize ourselves to (in Troy’s final words) “continue to fight this fight.”

The online gathering will be moderated by Amy Goodman, host and executive producer of Democracy Now! There will be a sneak peek of an excerpt of the I Am Troy Davis documentary that is currently in production, and the opportunity to hear from :

Kimberly Davis (Troy’s sister)

De’Jaun Davis-Correia (Troy’s nephew)

Thenjiwe McHarris (a leader in the Movement for Black Lives, who was deeply involved in the fight for Troy’s life)

Delia Perez Meyer (the sister of Louis Castro Perez, who is fighting to prove his innocence from Texas’ Death Row)

Marc Lamont Hill (author, activist and television host)

Kalonji Jama Changa (organizer and author whose organization FTP Movement was active in the fight to save Troy).

Tickets by (optional) donation. Proceeds support the education of Troy's nieces and Donkeysaddle's I Am Troy Davis project. Get tickets

Amy Goodman

Amy goodman
Amy Goodman is the host and executive producer of Democracy Now!, a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program airing on over 1,400 public television and radio stations worldwide.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard honored Goodman with the 2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence Lifetime Achievement Award....