Hi there,

This month Democracy Now! turns 27. Since our very first broadcast in 1996, Democracy Now! has been committed to fearless, independent journalism. We bring you the stories, voices and perspectives that you simply won't hear anywhere else. In these challenging times, with press freedom under attack worldwide, our reporting has never been more important. Can you donate $10 to keep us going strong? Today a generous donor will TRIPLE your donation, making it three times as valuable. Democracy Now! doesn't accept advertising income, corporate underwriting or government funding. That means we rely on you to make our work possible—and every dollar counts. Please make your gift now, and thank you so much.
-Amy Goodman

Non-commercial news needs your support.

We rely on contributions from you, our viewers and listeners to do our work. If you visit us daily or weekly or even just once a month, now is a great time to make your monthly contribution.

Please do your part today.


Senate Confirms Tucson Police Chief Chris Magnus to Lead CBP, Jessica Rosenworcel as FCC Chair

HeadlineDec 08, 2021

The Senate confirmed Tucson Police Chief Chris Magnus as the next head of Customs and Border Protection. Magnus has faced criticism for his handling of the Tucson police killing of 27-year-old Carlos Ingram-Lopez, who died in April 2020 after police pinned him face-down to the ground for 12 minutes at his grandmother’s house. Tucson police did not disclose Ingram-Lopez’s killing until June.

The Senate also voted to confirm Jessica Rosenworcel as chair of the Federal Communications Commission, the first woman to serve as permanent chair of the agency. Digital rights activists welcomed the news.
She was a fierce critic of the Trump-era repeal of net neutrality protections.

Last month, Jonathan Kanter, one of the nation’s leading anti-monopoly experts, was confirmed to head the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division. The Senate also unanimously confirmed Charles “Chuck” Sams III in November as the first-ever Native American National Park Service director.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to democracynow.org. Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation