Hi there,

If you think Democracy Now!’s reporting is a critical line of defense against war, climate catastrophe and authoritarianism, please make your donation of $10 or more right now. Today, a generous donor will DOUBLE your donation, which means it’ll go 2x as far to support our independent journalism. Democracy Now! is funded by you, and that’s why we’re counting on your donation to keep us going strong. Please give today. Every dollar makes a difference—in fact, gets doubled! Thank you so much.
-Amy Goodman

Non-commercial news needs your support.

We rely on contributions from you, our viewers and listeners to do our work. If you visit us daily or weekly or even just once a month, now is a great time to make your monthly contribution.

Please do your part today.


Izzy Award Honors In These Times, Mohammed El-Kurd, Lynzy Billing, Trina Reynolds-Tyler, Sarah Conway

HeadlineApr 02, 2024

The 2024 Izzy Award for “outstanding achievement in independent media” will be shared by In These Times and journalists Mohammed El-Kurd, Lynzy Billing, Trina Reynolds-Tyler and Sarah Conway. The award this year recognizes reporting by In These Times on worker-centered economic justice stories. Mohammed El-Kurd is The Nation’s first-ever Palestine correspondent and wrote, among many things, “The Right to Speak for Ourselves.” Lynzy Billing chronicled the American military’s environmental devastation in Afghanistan for Inside Climate News. Trina Reynolds-Tyler and Sarah Conway produced the seven-part series “Missing in Chicago,” which exposed police malpractice in the handling of missing persons cases, disproportionately affecting Black women and girls.

And Democracy Now! is receiving special recognition for our coverage of the ongoing war on Gaza. The Izzy Award is named for the dissident journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone and is presented by the Park Center for Independent Media at Ithaca College.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to democracynow.org. Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation