Hot Topics

Democracy Now! Events

Event banner

Past Event

Amy Goodman Gives Closing Plenary at Left Forum

New York, NY

May 22, 2016 | Sunday | 6:00 pm

4th floor, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

860 11th Ave,
New York, NY 10019 ( see map )
Join Democracy Now!’s Amy Goodman and Slovenian-born philosopher and psychoanalyst Slavoj Žižek at John Jay College for the closing plenary of Left Forum 2016.

This event is part of a national speaking tour which celebrates the 20th anniversary of the acclaimed television, radio and internet news program Democracy Now! as well as the extraordinary movements and heroes who have moved our country forward.

In 1996, Amy Goodman began hosting Democracy Now! on Pacifica Radio, to focus on issues and movements that are often ignored by much of the media. Today Democracy Now! is the largest public media collaboration in the US, broadcasting on over 1,400 public television and radio stations around the world — with millions accessing it online at

In their new book, Democracy Now!: Twenty Years Covering the Movements Changing America, Amy, along with her journalist brother, David Goodman, and co-author Denis Moynihan, share stories of the whistleblowers, the organizers, and the protesters, among others, who have brought about extraordinary change.

Because this event is part of a weekend conference, there are a variety of ticket options. Below are the most affordable ways to see Amy’s speech:
One Day Registration (Sun)–$ 40.00
Low income one day registration (Sun)–$ 25.00
Students and youth–22 and under (with ID)–$ 15.00
Check the ticket link below for a full range of options.

Hosted By
There are a variety of ticket options, available at the link below. Get tickets

Amy Goodman

Amy goodman
Amy Goodman is the host and executive producer of Democracy Now!, a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program airing on over 1,400 public television and radio stations worldwide.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard honored Goodman with the 2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence Lifetime Achievement Award....