Hi there,

If you think Democracy Now!’s reporting is a critical line of defense against war, climate catastrophe and authoritarianism, please make your donation of $10 or more right now. Today, a generous donor will DOUBLE your donation, which means it’ll go 2x as far to support our independent journalism. Democracy Now! is funded by you, and that’s why we’re counting on your donation to keep us going strong. Please give today. Every dollar makes a difference—in fact, gets doubled! Thank you so much.
-Amy Goodman

Non-commercial news needs your support.

We rely on contributions from you, our viewers and listeners to do our work. If you visit us daily or weekly or even just once a month, now is a great time to make your monthly contribution.

Please do your part today.


Naomi Klein, David Sirota Win Izzy Award for Achievement in Independent Media

HeadlineMar 24, 2015

The author Naomi Klein and investigative journalist David Sirota have jointly won the seventh annual Izzy Award, presented by the Park Center for Independent Media, and named for legendary dissident journalist, I.F. Stone. The judges praised Klein’s “groundbreaking book,” titled This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate, and Sirota’s exposés on corruption in the pension system. Jeff Cohen, director of the Park Center for Independent Media, said in a statement, “Naomi Klein and David Sirota are the journalistic heirs of I.F. Stone, taking on the most powerful forces in society — from Wall Street to Big Oil & Gas — and giving voice to the victims of predatory capitalism.”

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to democracynow.org. Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation