Independent news has never been so important.

Did you know that you can get Democracy Now! delivered to your inbox every day? Sign up for our Daily News Digest today! Don't worry, we'll never share or sell your information.

India to Split Jammu and Kashmir into Two Territories Controlled by New Delhi

HeadlineOct 31, 2019

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi tightened his control over Kashmir Wednesday, as his government announced plans to split the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two federal territories, controlled directly by New Delhi. Over the summer, massive protests erupted after Modi revoked the special status of the Indian-controlled part of the Muslim-majority region. Human rights groups say Modi’s government then carried out widespread torture, extrajudicial killings, arbitrary arrests and other crimes in Kashmir. Meanwhile, Kashmiri militants shot dead five construction workers from eastern India on Wednesday. The latest violence came as a group of European Union lawmakers from far-right parties toured Kashmir in a move decried by human rights groups as a “PR stunt.” The 27 parliamentarians, from countries including France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Spain and the U.K., met with Modi for a photo op on Monday.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation