You turn to us for voices you won't hear anywhere else.

Sign up for Democracy Now!'s Daily Digest to get our latest headlines and stories delivered to your inbox every day.

Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso Withdraw from ECOWAS

HeadlineJan 29, 2024

Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso announced they are withdrawing from the Economic Community of West African States, or ECOWAS. All three countries are led by military governments following coups in recent years. The nations released a joint statement, accusing the 15-country bloc of being “under the influence of foreign powers, betraying its founding principles” and “becoming a threat to its member states and its population.” Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso have expelled the military of their former colonizer France, and were already suspended by ECOWAS in the wake of the military takeovers.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation