Modal close

Hi there,

You turn to Democracy Now! for ad-free news you can trust. Maybe you come for our daily headlines, or for in-depth stories that expose government and corporate abuses of power. We produce our daily news hour at a fraction of the budget of a commercial news operation, all without ads, government funding or corporate underwriting? This is only possible with your support. Right now every donation to Democracy Now! will be doubled by a generous supporter. This means if you give $25 today, Democracy Now! will get $50 to support our daily news hour. Please do your part. It takes just a couple of minutes to make sure that Democracy Now! is there for you and everybody else in the coming year. Thanks so much. -Amy Goodman

Non-commercial news needs your support.

We rely on contributions from you, our viewers and listeners to do our work. If you visit us daily or weekly or even just once a month, now is a great time to make your monthly contribution.

Please do your part today.


141 Survivors of Larry Nassar Sexual Abuse Honored at ESPY Awards

HeadlineJul 19, 2018
H18 espy larry nassar survivors

And a group of 141 survivors who went public about their sexual abuse by former USA Gymnastics doctor Larry Nassar appeared on stage together Wednesday night to accept the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage at the annual ESPYs ceremony. Three-time Olympic gold medalist Aly Raisman stood in front of the group to receive the award.

Aly Raisman: “All those years, we were told, 'You are wrong. You misunderstood. He's a doctor. It’s OK. Don’t worry. We’ve got it covered. Be careful. There are risks involved.’ The intention? To silence us, in favor of money, medals and reputation. But we persisted, and finally someone listened and believed us.”

Also honored at the ESPY Awards were the three coaches killed in the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Valentine’s Day massacre. They were honored as coaches of the year.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation
Up arrowTop