Independent news has never been so important.

Did you know that you can get Democracy Now! delivered to your inbox every day? Sign up for our Daily News Digest today! Don't worry, we'll never share or sell your information.

Nobel Peace Prize Goes to Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

HeadlineOct 08, 2021

The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for “their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.” Maria Ressa is the co-founder of investigative outlet Rappler, which has become one of the Philippines’ most widely read news sites despite being the frequent target of attacks by the government of Rodrigo Duterte. Dmitry Muratov is one of the founders and the editor-in-chief of independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta. Six of the newspaper’s reporters have been killed since its creation, including Anna Politkovskaya in 2006, a fierce critic of Russian President Vladimir Putin and the Chechen War.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation