Independent news has never been so important.

Get Democracy Now! delivered to your inbox every day! Don't worry, we won't share or sell your information.

Treasury Department Announces New Sanctions on China, Bangladesh, Burma and North Korea

HeadlineDec 13, 2021

The Biden administration has levied new sanctions against dozens of people and entities tied to China, Bangladesh, Burma and North Korea. The Treasury Department announced the sanctions on Friday — International Human Rights Day — in protest of Burma’s treatment of Rohingya Muslims and China’s treatment of Muslims from the Uyghur minority group, among other abuses. The United Nations and human rights groups estimate over a million Uyghurs have been interned in camps in China’s far-west Xinjiang region, treatment the Biden administration has called a “genocide.” China’s Foreign Ministry rejected the U.S. sanctions and promised to “strike back” against what it called “reckless” U.S. actions.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation