You turn to us for voices you won't hear anywhere else.

Sign up for Democracy Now!'s Daily Digest to get our latest headlines and stories delivered to your inbox every day.

Three U.S. States Declare Emergencies as Missouri River Swells

HeadlineMar 21, 2019

In the United States, authorities have declared states of emergency in Missouri, Nebraska and Iowa for communities along the Missouri River, as warming temperatures have melted snow from last week’s storms, causing the river to breach levies and overflow its banks. The floods have killed four people over the past week and caused an estimated $1 billion in damage.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation