Hi there,

This month Democracy Now! is celebrating 28 years on the air. Since our very first broadcast in 1996, Democracy Now! has been committed to bringing you the stories, voices and perspectives you won't hear anywhere else. In these times of war, climate chaos and elections, our reporting has never been more important. Can you donate $10 to keep us going strong? Today a generous donor will DOUBLE your donation, making it twice as valuable. Democracy Now! doesn't accept advertising income, corporate underwriting or government funding. That means we rely on you to make our work possible—and every dollar counts. Please make your gift now. Thank you so much.
-Amy Goodman

Non-commercial news needs your support.

We rely on contributions from you, our viewers and listeners to do our work. If you visit us daily or weekly or even just once a month, now is a great time to make your monthly contribution.

Please do your part today.


House Progressives Join White House Hunger Strikers in Call for Gaza Ceasefire

HeadlineNov 30, 2023

In Washington, D.C., progressive Congressmembers Rashida Tlaib, Cori Bush and Jamaal Bowman joined a group of activists, politicians and celebrities who were on day three of their hunger strike to demand a permanent ceasefire. This is Congressmember Tlaib speaking at their nightly White House vigil.

Rep. Rashida Tlaib: “When this pause in the violence expires, all I keep thinking about is asking my colleagues, 'How many more lives? How many more lives will be enough? How many more children need to be killed? How many more families have to be traumatized and torn apart?' There is nothing humanitarian, my friends, about giving innocent civilians a few days of rest before they are bombed again.”

Earlier in the day, House members voted nearly unanimously to pass a resolution equating anti-Zionism with antisemitism, a framing which has driven the backlash against anyone who is critical of the Israeli government. Only Congressmember Thomas Massie voted against the measure. Congressmember Tlaib voted “present.”

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to democracynow.org. Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation