You turn to us for voices you won't hear anywhere else.

Sign up for Democracy Now!'s Daily Digest to get our latest headlines and stories delivered to your inbox every day.

Spain, Norway and Ireland Formalize Recognition of Palestinian State

HeadlineMay 28, 2024

European heads of state are facing ever louder calls to join Spain, Norway and Ireland in recognizing Palestinian statehood after Sunday’s attack on Rafah. Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez spoke earlier today ahead of Spain’s official recognition process in a cabinet meeting.

Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez: “The state of Palestine must be viable, with the West Bank and Gaza connected by a corridor and with East Jerusalem as its capital, and must be unified under the legitimate government of the Palestine National Authority. … Although it is not up to Spain to define the borders of other countries, our position is aligned with the U.N. Security Council resolutions 242 and 338 and with the position of the European Union. Therefore, we won’t recognize change in the 1967 lines other than those agreed to by the parties.”

Ireland and Norway also formalized their recognition of a Palestinian state today.

The original content of this program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please attribute legal copies of this work to Some of the work(s) that this program incorporates, however, may be separately licensed. For further information or additional permissions, contact us.

Non-commercial news needs your support

We rely on contributions from our viewers and listeners to do our work.
Please do your part today.
Make a donation